Challenge: One photo a week #OPAW

I want to start off this post by saying that I really miss talking to all of my followers…yes that’s you! How are you doing? (This is not a rhetorical question…feel free to answer in the comments) I hope you are keeping up with all the assignments okay in photography class. I know it is hard to find a good pace since they are fairly independent. The most important tip I have is to never leave them to the last week of school. You will end up taking mediocre photos of the ugly school lockers or your wandering peers in the hallways during class, which is a horrible idea because you potentially just documented proof of them skipping class. Taking photos at home is a good idea since you probably own more interesting things than what is offered at school. Have you tried using the studio? If not, now’s the chance. Ohh another tip I have…if you are running out of photos ideas by this point in the course try looking for an new perspective and focus on detail. I have no idea how the course is run this year as Mr. Bruce has probably changed some things. So, please message me if you want advice, ideas, or just to chat. I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I want to help! For all my followers that are not in this photography class I speak of (or no longer in), HEEY!…sorry I am not forgetting about you, haha. Sometimes I wonder if any people from the class even reads these blog posts. I am probably just writing to nobody. Anyways, these can be tips for any aspiring photographer like myself.

Procrastination is a deadly trap. And since we are on this subject, I have to admit, I am definitely guilty. Having just finished finals for winter semester, I had some time to reflect on my first year of university. My study habits have been taken up a notch…um, actually, maybe 10 notches. I have had to absorb more complex material in a shorter amount of time with less instruction…not to mention more pressure. (I know, this is a years old tale) Part of this is great because I enjoy the independent aspect, but it was definitely an adjustment. Procrastination leaves me in a vicious cycle of four hours of sleep a night. I am now just one week into spring semester (Yes, I am that person who takes courses in the spring and summer :P) and I have hopefully learned my lesson. But, you probably don’t really want to hear about my school life. It really just is study, eat (which 6/10 times consists of instant noodles…not even ashamed haha), sleep, and repeat. It is really boring to document, which is why I don’t post that often. Which leads me into the next thing.

I have realized that I must set myself a solid goal in order to get blog out regularly, which is why I decided to start #OPAW (one photo a week)…omg so cheesy, but whatever. Feel free to do #OPAW along with me! I decided to start with one per WEEK first and see where it goes. You guys need to hold me accountable to this! The idea is to post one photo a week (this will most likely be a Monday). There will be a theme each week and a small blurb about the photo and most likely some incredibly wise relevant life quote to accompany it (or maybe not so wise haha). Hopefully this is not too high a target to aim for and I can stay on track for you guys! I am really excited to pick up my camera more often. Oh…I forgot to mention, the theme for this month will be happiness. I will try to post things, big or little, in my day that make me smile.

This week I am going to post early! I decided to start of lightly and post a shot of flowers since spring is in full bloom. (I take that back, it totally full-on snowed here two days ago) But nevertheless, here are some flowers…always think positively, right? I feel like a lot of photographers say this on their blogs, but I apologize for the quality of this photo. I will improve once I get Lightroom back (My computer is in for repair for the next three weeks).

 IMG_0476edit

I literally just took this shot with my iPhone from inside my friend’s house. I enjoyed the pop of pink against the greenery..soo uplifting! This was a very simple display hidden near the front door. which goes well with the quote that: “There is always happiness in everyday, seemingly bland things.” Technically speaking, I added a tone of sepia and softened it in post-processing to add a romantic effect. The shadow on the wall bothers me a lot, but I didn’t want to give up posting this photo because of that.

Before I go, I just wanted to say goodnight. I hope you all had a good day, no matter if that consisted of staying at home the entire day and “trying” to do homework (that is what I did) or going on a adventure outdoors.

Best,

Bonnie

Leave a Reply

